City not to host Badminton League this year

The Kanteerava stadium hosted the matches in the first season

Bangalore, November 20, 2017: Bangalore has been excluded as one of the venues in the third season of the Premier Badminton League starting from the December 22, 2017

“There are eight teams in the League.It is not a scheduled event in the calendar. There is a draw of lot. It is a rolling venue and since there are other Superseries events in the year, followed by the holiday season, there are days constraints.

“Those venues who can’t host this year will host next year, Bangalore being one of them,” Udita Datta, Public Relation Officer at Artsmith, said.

The city was one of the venues in the first two editions, with the Bengaluru Blasters playing their home matches here.
The matches in the 2015 edition were held at the Kanteerava stadium while the following year, they were played at the Koramangala Indoor stadium.

The eight-team league will be played only in five venues this year with Mumbai, Chennai, Hyderabad, Lucknow and Guwahati, hosting matches.

The non-inclusion of Bengaluru as one of the venues has left the sport-loving fans in the city disappointed.

Vinay, a 3rd year engineering student, and an avid badminton follower said that he was saddened by the news, particularly because it has got a history of having produced champions like Prakash Padukone and Ashwini Ponnappa and expressed disappointment at the city missing out on matches.

He also added that since it is a Sachin Tendulkar-owned franchise, it would have attracted a lot of crowd to the venue.
Rahul, a software engineer working in Accenture, said that in both the previous seasons, he had gone to watch the matches after work, but was disappointed to not have the opportunity this year.

Vignesh, an architect, working in Bengaluru, but born-and-raised in Chennai, was however, happy that his hometown was getting to host matches, after having missed out in the previous season and wished to watch a few matches live.


Other IIJNM Publications